LFCS 2009

January 3-6, 2009

Deerfield Beach, Florida, U.S.A.

Call for Papers

Submission deadline: September 14, 2008

LFCS Steering Committee:

Anil Nerode, Ithaca, NY (General Chair);
Stephen Cook, Toronto;
Dirk van Dalen, Utrecht;
Yuri Matiyasevich, St. Petersburg;
John McCarthy, Stanford, CA;
J. Alan Robinson, Syracuse, NY;
Gerald Sacks, Cambridge, MA;
Dana Scott, Pittsburgh, PA.


LFCS Purpose:

The LFCS series provides an outlet for the fast-growing body of work in the logical foundations of computer science, e.g., areas of fundamental theoretical logic related to computer science. The LFCS series began with Logic at Botik, Pereslavl-Zalessky, 1989 and was co-organized by Albert R. Meyer (MIT) and  Michael Taitslin (Tver), after which organization passed to Anil Nerode.


LFCS Topics:

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • constructive mathematics and type theory;
  • logic, automata and automatic structures;
  • computability and randomness;
  • logical foundations of programming;
  • logical aspects of computational complexity;
  • logic programming and constraints;
  • automated deduction and interactive theorem proving;
  • logical methods in protocol and program verification;
  • logical methods in program specification and extraction;
  • domain theory logics;
  • logical foundations of database theory;
  • equational logic and term rewriting;
  • lambda and combinatory calculi;
  • categorical logic and topological semantics;
  • linear logic;
  • epistemic and temporal logics;
  • intelligent and multiple agent system logics;
  • logics of proof and justification;
  • nonmonotonic reasoning;
  • logic in game theory and social software;
  • logic of hybrid systems;
  • distributed system logics;
  • mathematical fuzzy logic;
  • system design logics;
  • other logics in computer science.


LFCS’09 Program Committee:

  • Sergei Artemov (New York, NY) – PC Chair
  • Matthias Baaz (Vienna)
  • Andreas Blass (Ann Arbor, MI)
  • Samuel Buss (San Diego, CA)
  • Rod Downey (Wellington, NZ)
  • Ruy de Queiroz (Recife)
  • Petr Hajek (Prague)
  • Denis Hirschfeldt (Chicago, IL)
  • Rosalie Iemhoff (Ultrecht)
  • Bakhadyr Khoussainov (Auckland, NZ)
  • Yves Lafont (Marseille)
  • Daniel Leivant (Bloomington, IN)
  • Robert Lubarsky (Florida Atlantic University)
  • Victor Marek (Lexington, KY)
  • Franco Montagna (Siena)
  • Anil Nerode (Ithaca, NY) – General LFCS Chair
  • Philip Scott (Ottawa)
  • Anatol Slissenko (Paris)
  • Alex Simpson (Edinburgh)
  • Michael Rathjen (Leeds)
  • Alasdair Urquhart (Toronto)
  • Rineke Verbugge (Groningen)


LFCS’09 Organizing Committee:

Robert Lubarsky (Chair), Sergei Artemov, Marty Solomon, Fred Richman, Fred Hoffman.


Submission details:

Proceedings will be published in the LNCS series.  There will be a post-conference volume of selected works published in the Annals of Pure and Applied Logic. Submissions should be made electronically via https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=lfcs09. Submitted papers must be in pdf/12pt format and of no more than 15 pages, present work not previously published, and must not be submitted concurrently to another conference with refereed proceedings.


Important Dates:

  • Submission server available: September 1, 2008
  • Submissions deadline (firm): September 14, 2008
  • Notification: October 10, 2008
  • Final papers for proceedings: October 19, 2008
  • Symposium dates: January 3 – 6, 2009


IEEE Computer Society, Association for Symbolic Logic, The Mid-Atlantic Mathematical Logic Seminar, New York Logic Colloquium, CUNY Computer Science Colloquium.

Local Arrangements:

LFCS’09 will convene in Howard Johnson Plaza Resort, Deerfield Beach, Florida. The other hotel Hilton Deerfield Beach/Boca Raton, Florida is available as another accommodation option (e.g., in case the HoJo is sold out). The Hilton provides a shuttle for the 2.5 mile trip.

Please visit our Hotel Information page for more details.