Call For Papers

Symposium on LOGICAL FOUNDATIONS OF COMPUTER SCIENCE (LFCS ’18), Deerfield Beach, Florida, January 8-11, 2018.
LFCS STEERING COMMITTEE: Anil Nerode (Cornell); Stephen Cook (Toronto); Dirk van Dalen (Utrecht); Yuri Matiyasevich (St. Petersburg); Samuel Buss (UC San Diego); Gerald Sacks (Harvard-MIT); Andre Scedrov (Penn); Dana Scott (CMU – Berkeley).
LFCS ’18 PROGRAM COMMITTEE: Sergei Artemov (New York, NY) – PC Chair; Eugene Asarin (Paris); Steve Awodey (Pittsburgh, PA); Matthias Baaz (Vienna); Lev Beklemishev (Moscow); Andreas Blass (Ann Arbor, MI); Samuel Buss (San Diego, CA); Robert Constable (Ithaca, NY); Thierry Coquand (Göteborg); Nachum Dershowitz (Tel Aviv); Michael Fellows (Bergen); Melvin Fitting (New York); Sergey Goncharov (Novosibirsk); Denis Hirschfeldt (Chicago, IL); Martin Hyland (Cambridge); Rosalie Iemhoff (Utrecht); Hajime Ishihara (JAIST – Kanazawa); Bakhadyr Khoussainov (Auckland); Roman Kuznets (Vienna); Daniel Leivant (Bloomington, IN); Robert Lubarsky (Boca Raton, FL); Victor Marek (Lexington, KY); Lawrence Moss (Bloomington, IN); Anil Nerode (Ithaca, NY) – General LFCS Chair; Hiroakira Ono (JAIST – Kanazawa); Alessandra Palmigiano (Delft); Ruy de Queiroz (Recife); Ramaswamy Ramanujam (Chennai); Michael Rathjen (Leeds); Jeffrey Remmel (San Diego, CA); Andre Scedrov (Philadelphia); Helmut Schwichtenberg (Munich); Philip Scott (Ottawa); Alex Simpson (Ljubljana); Sonja Smets (Amsterdam); Sebastiaan Terwijn (Nijmegen); Alasdair Urquhart (Toronto). 
LFCS TOPICS of interest include, but are not limited to: constructive mathematics and type theory; homotopy type theory; logic, automata, and automatic structures; computability and randomness; logical foundations of programming; logical aspects of computational complexity; parameterized complexity;  logic programming and constraints; automated deduction and interactive theorem proving; logical methods in protocol and program verification;  logical methods in program specification and extraction; domain theory logics; logical foundations of database theory; equational logic and term rewriting; lambda and combinatory calculi; categorical logic and topological semantics; linear logic; epistemic and temporal logics; intelligent and multiple agent system logics; logics of proof and justification; nonmonotonic reasoning; logic in game theory and social software; logic of hybrid systems; distributed system logics; mathematical fuzzy logic; system design logics; other logics in computer science.
SUBMISSION DETAILS. Proceedings will be published in the Springer LNCS series. There will be a post-conference volume of selected works published. Submissions should be made electronically via Submitted papers must be in pdf/12pt format and of no more than 15 pages, present work not previously published, and must not be submitted concurrently to another conference with refereed proceedings. 
LFCS issues the BEST STUDENT PAPER AWARD named after John Barkley Rosser Sr. (1907-1989), a prominent American logician with fundamental contributions in both Mathematics and Computer Science.
IMPORTANT DATES. Submissions deadline: September 10, 2017, September  15, any time zone. Notification: October 10, 2017.
LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS. The venue of LFCS ’18 will be the spectacular Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort, 2096 NE 2nd Street, Deerfield Beach, Florida 33441. Website:
ABOUT LFCS. The LFCS series provides an outlet for the fast-growing body of work in the logical foundations of computer science, e.g., areas of fundamental theoretical logic related to computer science. The LFCS series began with Logic at Botik, Pereslavl-Zalessky, 1989 and was co-organized by Albert R. Meyer (MIT) and Michael Taitslin (Tver), after which organization passed to Anil Nerode in 1992. LFCS has enjoyed support and endorsements from a number of bodies, including the US National Science Foundation (NSF) and the City University of New York Research Foundation.