Call for Papers

LFCS Steering Committee:

Anil Nerode, Ithaca, NY (General Chair);
Stephen Cook, Toronto;
Dirk van Dalen, Utrecht;
Yuri Matiyasevich, St. Petersburg;
John McCarthy, Stanford, CA;
J. Alan Robinson, Syracuse, NY;
Gerald Sacks, Cambridge, MA;
Dana Scott, Pittsburgh, PA.

LFCS Purpose:

The LFCS series provides an outlet for the fast-growing body of work in the logical foundations of computer science, e.g., areas of fundamental theoretical logic related to computer science. The LFCS series began with Logic at Botik, Pereslavl-Zalessky, 1989 and was co-organized by Albert R. Meyer (MIT) and  Michael Taitslin (Tver), after which organization passed to Anil Nerode.

LFCS Topics:

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • constructive mathematics and type theory;
  • logical foundations of programming;
  • logical aspects of computational complexity;
  • logic programming and constraints;
  • automated deduction and interactive theorem proving;
  • logical methods in protocol and program verification;
  • logical methods in program specification and extraction;
  • domain theory logics;
  • logical foundations of database theory;
  • equational logic and term rewriting;
  • lambda and combinatory calculi;
  • categorical logic and topological semantics;
  • linear logic;
  • epistemic and temporal logics;
  • intelligent and multiple agent system logics;
  • logics of proof and justification;
  • nonmonotonic reasoning;
  • logic in game theory and social software;
  • logic of hybrid systems;
  • distributed system logics;
  • system design logics;
  • other logics in computer science.

LFCS’07 Program Committee:

  • Samson Abramsky (Oxford)
  • Sergei Artemov (New York, NY) – PC Chair
  • Matthias Baaz (Vienna)
  • Lev Beklemishev (Moscow)
  • Andreas Blass (Ann Arbor, MI)
  • Lenore Blum (Pittsburgh, PA)
  • Samuel Buss (San Diego, CA)
  • Thierry Coquand (Göteborg)
  • Ruy de Queiroz (Recife)
  • Denis Hirschfeldt (Chicago, IL)
  • Bakhadyr Khoussainov (Auckland)
  • Yves Lafont (Marseille)
  • Joachim Lambek (Montreal)
  • Daniel Leivant (Bloomington, IN)
  • Victor Marek (Lexington, KY)
  • Anil Nerode (Ithaca, NY) – General LFCS Chair
  • Philip Scott (Ottawa)
  • Anatol Slissenko (Paris)
  • Alex Simpson (Edinburgh)
  • V. S. Subrahmanian (College Park, MD)
  • Michael Rathjen (Leeds)
  • Alasdair Urquhart (Toronto)

Submission details:

Proceedings will be published in the LNCS series.  There will be a post-conference volume of selected works published in the Annals of Pure and Applied Logic. Due to the closeness of the LFCS’07 deadline to the end of classes in many venues, and because of several requests for extensions, we are allowing submissions up to midnight December 22, US Eastern Standard Submissions should be made electronically via Submitted papers must be in pdf/12pt format and of no more than 15 pages, present work not previously published, and must not be submitted concurrently to another conference with refereed proceedings.

Instructions for preparing camera-ready versions can be found at  Accepted Papers and Instructions . The deadline for submitting the final versions is extended to February 25, 2007.

Important Dates:

  • Submission server available: November 1, 2006
  • Submissions: December 22, 2006 (New submission date!)
  • Notification: January 11, 2007
  • Final papers for proceedings: February 25, 2007 (Extended!)
  • Symposium dates: June 4 – 7, 2007


IEEE Computer Society, Association for Symbolic Logic, The Mid-Atlantic Mathematical Logic Seminar, New York Logic Colloquium, CUNY Computer Science Colloquium.

Local Arrangements:

LFCS’07 will convene in midtown Manhattan at the CUNY Graduate Center, 365 Fifth Avenue.

LFCS’07 Organizing Committee (New York City):

Evangelia Antonakos, Arthur Apter, Sergei Artemov (Chair), Ted Brown, Yegor Bryukhov, Samir Chopra, Walter Dean, Melvin Fitting, Evan Goris, Karen Kletter, Roman Kuznets, Florian Lengyel, Elena Nogina, Natasha Novak, Bryan Renne, Susan Schweitzer, Subash Shankar, Noson Yanofsky.